Neris folding kayaks UK - go canoeing in a folding kayak
Jump to replacement skins
Jump to single folding kayaks
Jump to double folding kayaks
Jump to multiseater folding kayaks
 
   
 

Prices

Hybrids - Overview page
Standard - Overview page
Package Deals - PD page

Accessory prices are listed on respective pages

Announcements

14/10/19 - SALE kayaks - New surplus / ex-demo kayaks on sale! Listing on this page here

21/04/19 - SMART Series - Pages updated with new kayak models

21/04/19 - 2020 DW race
Considering entering in the 2020 Devizes to Westminster non-stop canoe race in the Folding Boat Class? Speak to us about the very competitive Neris Valkure-2 folding kayak

05/12/18 - Amazing Neris SMART PRO S single seater now availabler. Details

08/01/19 - Neris SMART PRO Comprehensive review by new owner - G Lodge - see Reviews page

18/10/18 - Neris Valkure-1 now discontinued

30/09/18 - Neris SMART-2 PRO review by owner Mike Loftus. Reviews page

29/03/18 - Neris SMART-2 PRO available to order now. See SMART's page

10/02/18 - new range coming soon - SMART PRO Series of hybrid kayaks / canoes. See News

23/01/18 - new video of a trio of SMART-2 hybrid kayaks off the coast of Turkey





Inquiries

No matter which country you are based in, do contact us with your queries. Prices are linked to the Euro - we will provide quotes in your preferred currency if not based in the UK.

Ordering
When you would like to order, write to us and we will provide up to date quotes. We will also send you an invoice with relevant payment details etc.

Or if you need advice etc, we are more than happy to help with your queries.



Looking to replacing the skin for your Pouch RZ85 or Russian made kayaks? Speak to us about a replacement skin for your German made Pouch RZ85-3 or Russian Saliut / Taimjen kayaks.

Looking for something?
If you are looking for something that is not listed on our website please give us a call or email us.


NERIS
NERIS products are all made in Europe, using European / USA made materials and high grade German PVC welding machines.

5 year warranty on all NERIS products


Important Notice
It is your responsibility to ensure that you have a valid license / permission from the relevant authorities to use water craft on UK's waterways, rivers, lakes, etc. Not all inland water is open to paddlers, some access points are privately owned or is bounded by land which is private, so do check beforehand. Membership of a canoe union / club is very beneficial.

UK's 'Song Of The Paddle' forum is a very friendly and useful site to obtain up to date information of all kinds regarding canoeing inland waters, both in the UK and Europe




FaceBook

Instagram

NERIS Product Reviews

Feedback, reviews, and blogs from testers and clients. Where a review or a blog has been submitted on an independent website / forum, links to that site will be provided.

 

NERIS Smart-2 PRO - Owner Gavin Lodge, UK - Jan 2019 (Originally posted on the NERIS UK Facebook)
This is a copy of a review of my Smart 2 Pro Iíve posted on other kayaking sites. Itís a bit long and I guess most people on here already appreciate the product anyway so not very interesting for you:

ďNeris Smart 2 Pro review.

UK delivery and specification.

Ordering and delivery:
After much searching the internet looking for a robust, stable and large collapsible kayak suitable for 2 people, 2 dogs and kit (including camping equipment) we came across the Neris Uk website (https://www.neris.co.uk/) - seemed perfect for what we needed.
Although we really didn't know anything about this style of Kayak we felt that the cheaper inflatable style kayaks were definitely not good enough for our needs (having examined a few), so contacted Simon who runs the UK distribution for Neris. Simon is an excellent, knowledgeable and enthusiastic ambassador for the brand, and kayaking in general, he offered lots of advice and really worked hard to understand our needs to ensure we got the best solution - we settled on the Smart 2 Pro for reasons of size, stability and quality.
Our order placement coincided with the factories summer holiday shutdown and the consequent backlog of orders, in this world of almost instant deliveries its worth remembering that these are hand built by craftsmen in a small factory to your actual order specifications and therefore although the website says 4 to 6 weeks delivery realistically it may often be longer. As a side note about communiction. Ordering something of a substantial value from the Ukraine from the UK felt like it might be bit of a risk in terms of distance, language and communication, however the reality has been the opposite as I had some queries about sizing and accessories so contacted the factory direct and received a reply within hours and have now had many conversations with them about mods, suggestions and general chat - they are a really nice friendly and open company with great customer service who always look for feedback and suggestions.

The Product:

Bag. The kayak comes broken down and nicely packed in its only carry bag, now this bag doesn't get much mention in the specs or on the website but in reality it is actually a critical part and thankfully the designers' have done an excellent job on its design, material and construction. It is very well made with a good sturdy zip, tightening straps and a nice comfortable rucksack harness with a good wide waste belt and two mesh side pockets that are big enough for paddle blades therefore allowing the paddles to be strapped to the sides and all carried together. A nice addition would be a small pocket to keep the locking pins/screws in.

Skin. Though I have no experience of manufacturing PVC type products I've worked in engineering all my life so always notice accuracy, finish and fit and the first thing I thought when I unrolled the skin was 'wow, thatís well made'. The seams are all straight with no over-gluing, the webbing loops are all equal with tight tidy stitching, the bow and stern bungee straps are just right with nice heat shrunk ties, side eyelets are equal distances and spacing consistent. The bow and stern areas are nicely reinforced with heavy duty lifting handles with a really substantial feel to them and of course the stern has a metal insert for the rudder mechanism.

Valves - one per side with nice push open/closed mechanisms and caps that act as secondary seals and prevent accidental venting. Also on each side is a 'blow off' valve that can be set to open or fully closed which is a nice safety device if the kayak is inflated in cold temperatures then left in the sun and overheated they will just gently vent the excess instead of bursting the air chamber. I didn't give these valves any thought until I met up with a friend who had bought a much lower priced and specification inflatable kayak, turns out he had had to return it twice with faulty valves and sealing around the valves, examining his new one showed the difference in quality (I'm really not knocking other products it just showed what you get for your extra money, because there is a big difference and you do kinda get what you pay for with Neris).

Frame structure. The aluminium frame consists of three interlocking ladder structure platforms, bow and stern sections (with marine ply uprights), internal side ribs, bow and stern ovals and two sets of three side rails, all of the parts are to the same high standard and finish and I think will prove strong and reliable over time and use. Note that ours is a UK specification and has hard composite foot plates in front of the seats (where you step in), I like these and would have thought they should be standard fitment. Assembly is easy and logical and where required bolts with wing nuts are used to locate and tighten the sections, these are a bit fiddly with cold hands so I've substituted them for R clips, however they could snag any bags pushed into the bow or stern so not necessarily ideal - I know the factory is looking into purpose made pins.
All fittings are either stainless steel or anodized so will stand up well to harsh environments.

Accessories.
Spray deck. This is again made from heavy duty PVC and is attached by industrial strength Velcro (hoop & loop) with each end hidden/located under a double flap with Velcro on both sides. This is a great way to attach it as when you fix one end you can pull it tight from the other end then move around each side tightening it on the inflated tubes. The two passenger and one cargo entrances are rimmed by a raised section supported internally by strong metal hoops that don't flex or twist, which is essential if using spray skirts.

Spray skirts. Made from thin waterproof material with over-the-shoulder webbing with buckle adjustable straps and Velcro adjustable chest straps, when originally unpacked my first thoughts where that these were just very simple basic items and I'd probably immediately upgrade them. However after using them a few times I've changed my mind as although they are thin they are waterproof, easy to put on, weigh almost nothing and actually really suite the ethos of simple and easy to use.

Seats. Inflatable with adjustable side supports that clip to hoops on the inside of the air tubes, the best thing to say is is that there isn't anything to really say, comfortable and easy to use that you don't really notice them. The only niggle for me is that the adjusting straps are located by your hips and I struggled sometimes to find them, to get round this I've just added some cord to the location clip and now happy days.

Bow, Stern and luggage roll-top bags. Simple, well made, fit perfectly and even have the Neris logo on them, highly recommended.

Rudder system. It's not been used in the water but looks easy to hook and use and I suspect no more fiddly then any other one, we have paddled in some open water with a side wind and found two people really catch it so will be using it at some point.

Assembly:
There's a video that shows about 10 minutes, first time took me and my wife an hour in the living room!!!
After that we've really got the hang of it and with each time used we've shaved time off it to the point that we actually timed ourselves last time and it was 12 minutes from unzipping the bag to standing back and admiring it - pretty good going.

Assembly is surprisingly easy once you've worked out the best sequence and got yourselves organised as to who does what and when, I've not tried it on my own but I wouldn't expect it to be that bad apart from maybe a bit more effort to get the skin pulled out straight for the bow and stern ends to be pushed in snugly. We've only had it a few months and as we're heading into winter here in the UK it's mainly been used in cold'ish (2c/ 35f) weather and although as the thermometer drops the skin is noticeably harder to fold it isn't as bad as I thought and I donít see any reason not to use it through all of our winter. In fact the factory does a lot of winter testing in proper tough environments so I expect it to be useable in anything I'm going to encounter.

When assembled and inflated this is a very impressive looking boat, all the skin is tight and even, no flapping areas, fit of everything is great and really shows the quality and care taken in the manufacture of all the individual items that make up the whole. This has been shown by all the very positive comments by experienced kayakers and sailors that have taken great interest when they see it.

Use:
I'm not a very experienced paddler and my wife and two dogs had never even been in a kayak before so this was a difficult decision as we wanted a portable touring kayak for use on long river, lake and gentle sea days and overnight camping trips but really didn't know what I should be looking for, hence I did the best thing and found the highest quality kayak I could. Although we haven't done any fully loaded overnight trips yet we have done quite a few long full days along with lots of short few hour trips, both with and without the dogs but always with some essentials like extra clothing, food and coffee and as a boat she is a dream to use. Sooooo stable (I can even stand up in her, carefully!) and easy to paddle with a good turn of speed, seems to be a lot smoother and rigid then most fully inflatables I've seen and very impressive when hitting bow waves or rougher water - very little longitudinal flex due to the internal frame.

Having looked at several well-known purely inflatable boats I can say that the Neris product is at the very top end and feels like the premium product it is, highly recommendĒ.

Original post:-


 

NERIS Smart-2 PRO - Owner Mike Loftus - Sept 2018
If you don't want to read a long review and you just want to know then yes, I would recommend this boat.

So why buy this boat with so many options out there? Well it depends on what you need from a boat, so I can tell you about what I needed and how the Smart Pro fits my criteria.

I have experience of sea touring in solo boats but wanted a boat that was suitable for camping trips with my wife who is much more canoe orientated. We have taken many canoe trips on fresh water, but they are obviously limited in open sea.
The Smart pro offers a boat that is sea worthy, adaptable, (can be used as an open canoe) and can pack down for storage or transport.

As it turns out we have not actually used it as a canoe because we prefer the extra power available with double bladed paddling. The boat is considerably lighter than any other double I know of, can be easily lifted onto a roof rack or packed down to fit in the car boot. Also, the weight helps with any portage you need to do. I have been on group trips where people in plastics doubles need four people to portage their boat, not the case with the Smart Pro.

The boat is very stable due to the inflatable side tubes, I have not experienced any tippy moments making it a good, stable fishing platform. It handles well for a double, better than some of the plastic hulled boats I have used, tracks well and is surprisingly responsive to steering despite the length to width ratio. I was initially worried I would need a massively long paddle due to the width, so I bought an extendable paddle thinking I would use it at maximum extension but do in fact have it closer to its minimum. We have used the boat in winds exceeding 12 m/s and it remained responsive, the windage effect was considerably less than expected.



The main reason for buying boat was to go camping. It easily carries enough gear inside the boat for two people for several days. I have not had to make choices on what to leave behind, it all fits. There is also the opportunity to strap things to the deck if need be.

All decisions involve some compromise. In bigger swells the boat is more raft like than fully rigid kayaks but still no significant problems. There is no skeg so we opted for the rudder kit. It works well when set up just right, takes a few trips to get it where you want it. However, it is also completely possible to manoeuvre the boat successfully with paddles only. Puddles of splash water do accumulate on the deck because it is not a fully rigid boat, but again this does not cause significant problems.

In conclusion the boat is a good match for my requirements, sea worthiness and stowage are excellent. I would recommend this over sit on tops any day and consider its lightness and adaptability to be a great advantage.

Michael Loftus
Bolo, Lofoten Islands, Norway



NERIS Valkure-1 400 - Owner NIck K - Sept 2016
A blog site by ex-pat Nick K - Quiet Kayaking -
Little adventures with my folding kayak. By: Nick, The Quiet Paddler




 
NERIS Alu-2 500 - Owner - Jordan Newman-Beckett - July 2016

NERIS Alu-2 folding kayak
 
Living in a small house in a city, size and transportability were my main concerns when buying a canoe. After doing some online research I decided to go for a Neris as they seemed to offer the best quality kayaks within my price range.

I ended up going for the Neris Alu-2 500 (the lightest two man canoe) package including paddles, spray decks and rudder. Once it arrived in the UK Simon Bolze delivered it to my house where he went through the construction of it with me, which took about 30 minutes. The first time I tried to construct it by myself it took longer - about 50 minutes! - but since then I've got it down to around half an hour.

The first time I took it out on the water I was struck by how lightweight and manoeuvrable it was and I've since comfortably paddled it solo when loaded up. I was also pleased by how stable it felt in the water as this was one of my concerns with buying a fold up. Overall I found the construction high quality and design very intuitive and am happy to recommend it.


 
NERIS Valkure-2 550 - Owner - Nigel Godbolt, Northampton - July 2016

NERIS Valkure-2 folding kayak NERIS Valkure-2 foldable canoe
 

I had been reviewing kayaks for several months in order to work out which type and make I wanted to buy. With limited space at home and not wanting to have a roof rack permanently on my car, I knew I wanted a collapsible style and quickly dismissed inflatable as too slow and liable to damage.

I liked the look of Klepper but their price is prohibitive and the all-wooden frame did not appeal. Neris makes a wide range of single and 2-3 man collapsible kayaks with a range of add-ons that really appealed and had an hybrid Series that has an aluminium and wooden frame. The price point was right and I went to see Simon Bolze of Neris Watersports in Reading for a chat and a demonstration of constructing the kayak.

I placed an order there and then for a Valkure 2 man kayak, plus spraydeck, optional rudder and paddles. It arrived incredibly well wrapped and I had it out in my back garden to practice constructing it. Having only watched Simon build it once a few weeks ago, I was expecting it to be a challenge - however, it is all very logical and took me just over 30 minutes. Now having built and stripped it down numerous times, I have got it down to 25 minutes or so.

It paddles well both as a single and with a 2nd paddler. It will never be quite as quick as a solid kayak, but it is no slouch. Incredibly stable due to the sponsons and I have loaded it up to over the weight recommendation with myself, my son, our dog and overnight camping gear and food with no issues. Loads of stowage gear at the front and rear and between the 2 paddlers (my dogs favoured location when the spraydeck isn't fitted!). It appears very robust with rubber running strips at all the obvious potential wear points. Next summer it is off for a couple of sea trips where I
think it will excel.

The only item I have added is a set of strap on wheels for ease of transporting the kayak when assembled when I am paddling on my own. With the Valkure 2 it is no issue carrying it with 2 of you, but the wheels make it a doddle when you are on your own (this issue would not be there if you had a single)

All in all, a well constructed and enjoyable kayak for river / lake / sea use that packs down for easy storage and transport.



 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 


`

On an ongoing basis, NERIS innovates and improves all products. IE product descriptions (text / photos) on this site is subject to change without prior notice.

[Single folding kayaks] [Double folding kayaks] [Multi-seater folding kayaks] [Hybrid kayaks and canoes] [Folding kayak replacement hulls]
Folding Kayaks UKWayland Folding Kayaks UK ZelGear
Folding Kayaks UK, trading as Neris Folding Kayaks UK
Copyright © 2015-19. All Rights Reserved. Designated trademarks and brands are the property of their respective owners.
Photos on this site may not be used in any way on other web site's, publications etc, without express written permission from this web site owner - Folding Kayaks UK
Page last updated 14-Oct-2019